‘Iron Man 3′ Trailer Preview: New Hairstyle, New Armor, New Antagonist [Updated]

Published 2 years ago by , Updated October 23rd, 2012 at 12:23 am,

Barely a day after Robert Downey Jr. returned to the set of Iron Man 3 after suffering a leg injury which kept him away from production for over a month did we find out that it wouldn’t be long before fans would get their first official look at the film. And we’re not just talking about more production photos or promotional artwork. On Tuesday, October 23rd the first full-length Iron Man 3 trailer will be released by Disney and Marvel Studios, and the first sneak peek preview has surfaced a little early thanks to the support of eager fans.

For the last few days, users could go to the official Iron Man Facebook page and ‘like’ it in an effort to help re-energize Tony Stark’s Arc Reactor, and when that power bar hit 100%, a preview would release. That happened earlier today and we now get a glimpse at how Iron Man will play under the new direction of Shane Black. Although brief, many of the scenes are elements of larger clips presented at the Iron Man 3 Comic-Con presentation earlier this summer. Some of the scenes also match previously reported trailer descriptions, including of course, the new Extremis armor design, a look at Ben Kingsley’s Mandarin costume and the scene where Iron Man has to save a group of falling people.

[Update: Here is the second trailer preview, featuring Guy Pearce and Don Cheadle's faces]

In the few seconds of footage there are unfortunately no shots of War Machine and his new armor to be found, nor any of the other new key characters, including Guy Pearce’s Aldrich Killian and Rebecca Hall’s Maya Hansen. At least the new armor design plays well in live-action so hopefully that’ll ease skepticism about its color scheme. Stay tuned into Screen Rant for the full trailer release and our breakdown on Tuesday.

Official Iron Man 3 plot synopsis:

Marvel Studios’ “Iron Man 3″ pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy’s hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible. This journey, at every turn, will test his mettle. With his back against the wall, Stark is left to survive by his own devices, relying on his ingenuity and instincts to protect those closest to him. As he fights his way back, Stark discovers the answer to the question that has secretly haunted him: does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man?

Iron Man 3 Trailer Logo Iron Man 3 Trailer Preview: New Hairstyle, New Armor, New Antagonist [Updated]

[Update: Watch the full Iron Man 3 trailer here.]

Iron Man 3 is directed by Shane Black based off of his and Drew Pearce’s screenplay, and stars Robert Downey Jr., Ben Kingsley, Don Cheadle, Gwyneth Paltrow, Guy Pearce, Jon Favreau, Rebecca Hall, William Sadler, James Badge Dale and the voice of Paul Bettany.

Iron Man 3 releases May 3, 2013, Thor: The Dark World on November 8, 2013, Captain America: The Winter Soldier on April 4, 2014, Guardians of the Galaxy on August 1, 2014The Avengers 2 on May 1, 2015 and Ant-Man on November 6, 2015.

-

Follow Rob on Twitter @rob_keyes.

Get our free email alerts on the topics and author of this article:
TAGS: iron man, iron man 3

127 Comments

Post a Comment

GravatarWant to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

 Rules: No profanity or personal attacks.
 Use a valid email address or risk being banned from commenting.


If your comment doesn't show up immediately, it may have been flagged for moderation. Please try refreshing the page first, then drop us a note and we'll retrieve it.

  1. Not too thrilled about the two cheap looking CGI helicopters, but otherwise it looks pretty good.

  2. A trailer for a trailer…

  3. A trailer for a trailer = retarded. Good job guys.

    • Trailerception

  4. A trailer’s trailer. Really. I guess sometime in the future we’ll see a teaser of a trailer of a preview…

  5. one word = fantastic

  6. C’mon you guys the article clearly says “Preview” or on other sites a “Sneak Peak” If you really want to see the actual trailer wait till it comes out on Oct 23 12:01 AM. Other than that really stoked for this movie!

  7. They filmed a lot of this movie in my town, Wilmington, NC…

    • That’s awesome that they filmed this in your town man, that’s really cool.

    • Hey, I’m from Wilmington Also!

    • They DID NOT film in my town of Willow River, MN…

      Not as great news as yours, but true never the less.

  8. Can’t wait for Tuesday, also can’t wait to see Kingsley as the mandarin

  9. other than that, cool, looks like Pepper’s in real trouble, for once.

    • I don’t know…was she in pain, or enjoying one of Tony’s ah…”devices”…while he was out of town?

  10. Not to bring a negative note, but am I the only one that thinks war machines part in these movies has been completely pointless? Not that I think he’s a pointless character, but he served no meaningfulpurpose in im2 and has kinda been boring. I hope im3 changes my mind about that.

    • Well, his purpose is that of a side kick and he does serve that purpose. He’s just there to make it more interesting in some places and to kick one or two bad guy’s asses. After all, the movies are called Iron Man and not the Metallic Duo or whatnot. ;)

    • Yes, I also thought introducing him was not good (as I see it) ant thank god he wasn’t in Avengers but now he is set to appear on Avengers 2 which is nonsense to me because insted of bringing sideckicks to Avengers they should be bringing the real heroes like Doctor Strange or Blank Panther, etc.

      • I kind of want to see them have the West Coast Avengers, which War Machine is a part of, at some point in the future. And having War Machine show up there would give him a chance to develop himself as an individual character and not attached at the hip to Iron Man.

    • His role could have been written better. Felt like he was there in IM2 just for some forced faked drama.

    • His purpose in IM2 was to serve as part of Stark’s development (like most supporting characters help develop the main character).

      In the end of IM2 Rodey was there to help Stark even though Stark wanted to do everything himself – he started to realize that he should let people in and ask for help every once in a while – and that was obviously a big part of his character arc in The Avengers where that development came full circle and he joined the team and sacrificed himself for the good of others.

      • Yet, it came off as completely un necessary forced drama. Typical superhero friends need to fight each other and then work together at the end type plot.

        And now you just pointed out that Tony Stark has gone through the same exact story arc for three movies!? /facepalm

        • “And now you just pointed out that Tony Stark has gone through the same exact story arc for three movies!?”
          Looks like you have a problem understanding my comments mate…
          Stark’s arrogance and problem with working with others wasn’t rehashed in three movies, it was an evolution of a character arc throughout TWO movies (IM1 had nothing to do with that arc).

          Would you have liked it more if Stark went from narcissistic, arrogant and selfish to selfless-teamworker in ONE movie? – I sure wouldn’t.

          You may have seen it as unnecessary, forced drama, but I saw it as a crucial arc that needed to be included in order for Stark becoming an Avenger to feel more plausible.

          • totally back you, avenger. though i can’t help but chuckle when i realize that’s pretty much what happened in thor

  11. I don’t want to read too much into such a short clip, but what excites me most is what looks like a shift in tone from the standard marvel formula. Not to say that ‘darker equals better’ at all but it’d be great if they felt they could take some risks with the format at this stage. After all, marvels success was built on some big gambles. A tonal shift will also set a precedent for other types of marvel movies playing in different genres down the pike. Can’t wait to see the first marvel out and out comedy, horror and (I might be stretching it here) rom-com. All still set in the MCU of course!

    • I can kinda see where you’re coming from with that as a tonal shift thing. They’re still gonna be comic book movies, meaning its still gonna be mostly action/adventure, but something thats an action flick with a signifigant comedy or horror feel to it would be cool. For instance:

      action-comedy: well the first thing to come to mind is Deadpool (unfortunatly/thankfully(?) Fox is already doing that one) but maybe there is some else who is similar they could do.

      Horror: Something down the lines of the midnight sons would fit with that. Guys like werewolf by night, Blade, Morbius, Man-thing, Son of Satan (and if they ever get the rights back to ghost rider) I can seriously see that happening sometime.

      I just don’t see where they could get away with any characters to do a romantic comedy with. I personally wouldn’t want to see that one, it just doesn’t seem like it would fit in right. But for the minority that may want it, for right now I don’t really see how they could do that one. Sorry…

      • wasn’t scott pilgrim a comic book first? there you have action/comedy/rom-com all in 1 movie. Lawyer’d! :)

      • What I wouldn’t give for a real ghost rider movie. Ant-man has the potential for some great comedy too I hope. I think you’re right about the rom-com but I believe if they ever decided to make a Namor the sub-mariner movie there’s potential for some epic sweeping romance. The way it rolls off the tongue is already kind of ‘mills and boon’ish plus he’s a bad boy jerk from Atlantis just waiting for some girl to bring out his sensitive side… Just not Sue Richards :(
        Give me an inhumans movie like game of thrones set on the moon please.

  12. 85 comments and counting for a 17 second teaser for a trailer.

    Marvel; you’re doing something right.

    • Haha…Yes!

  13. That was the most intense 3 seconds of my life!

    • That’s what she said.

      • Zing!

        • Heyyyooo

  14. is it just me, or is that a very fin fang foom-like silouhette hiding within the ’3′ in the tile card?

    • I don’t see it.

  15. For those who are wondering why the trailer hasn’t been released yet (it’s past midnight), I’m pretty sure it’s being released at 12:01 Pacific standard time. So, if you’re an east-coaster like me, your gonna have to stay up late. Or watch it in the morning.

    • i was just coming on here to say i don’t see it yet. pacific time…jeez!

  16. who’s the redhead grabbing stark and pushing him against the wall?

  17. Seriously these are my thoughts.
    1 we do not see the extremis in the trailer. Only another hi tec mark suit
    2 in the trailer we see him receiving general anesthesia, probably getting the nanotechnology virus “installed” in himself
    Iron patriot is NOT war machine upgraded but A new suit altogether
    The extremis suit will likely be similar to that in the trailer, since he loses everything when the mandarin blows up his house. He only has the suit he is wearing at the time. Unless stark tower is still intact then he can have different extremis design.

    MAIN POINT : WE HAVE NOT YET SEEN THE EXTREMIS IN ACTION.
    3

  18. Seriously these are my thoughts.
    1 we do not see the extremis in the trailer. Only another hi tec mark suit
    2 in the trailer we see him receiving general anesthesia, probably getting the nanotechnology virus “installed” in himself
    Iron patriot is NOT war machine upgraded but A new suit altogether
    The extremis suit will likely be similar to that in the trailer, since he loses everything when the mandarin blows up his house. He only has the suit he is wearing at the time. Unless stark tower is still intact then he can have different extremis design.

    MAIN POINT : WE HAVE NOT YET SEEN THE EXTREMIS IN ACTION.

  19. these are my thoughts.
    1 we do not see the extremis in the trailer. Only another hi tec mark suit

    2 in the trailer we see him receiving general anesthesia, probably getting the nanotechnology virus “installed” in himself

    Iron patriot is NOT war machine upgraded but A new suit altogether

    The extremis suit will likely be similar to that in the trailer, since he loses everything when the mandarin blows up his house. He only has the suit he is wearing at the time. Unless stark tower is still intact then he can have different extremis design.

    MAIN POINT : WE HAVE NOT YET SEEN THE EXTREMIS IN ACTION.