‘Walking Dead’ Producer Brings ‘The Eleventh Commandment’ To TV

Published 2 years ago by , Updated August 5th, 2013 at 1:56 pm,

The Eleventh Commandment is being developed by Valhalla Entertainment Walking Dead Producer Brings The Eleventh Commandment To TV

Fans of English author Jeffrey Archer take note: some of your favorite characters may make their way to the airwaves soon. Gale Anne Hurd’s (The Walking Dead) production company announced today that they plan to bring The 11th Commandment to television.

The 1998 novel centers on Connor Fitzgerald, a CIA assassin who makes an enemy of agency director Helen Dexter. Dexter has been secretly assassinating foreign politicians with anti-American views with Agent Fitzgerald’s help. On his final mission before retirement, Fitzgerald is set up as “the fall guy” and goes on the run from both the CIA and the Russian government.

While there’s no major development news available as of yet, we know that Valhalla Entertainment will be the primary production house, with experienced producer Gale Anne Hurd at the helm. Hurd is primarily a movie producer, with over 40 films under her belt, including the first three Terminator movies, Aliens, Armageddon, and both Hulk and Punisher movies.

Her experience on television is limited to AMC’s hit The Walking Dead and short-lived Canadian action show Adventure Inc. Hurd appeared on stage with The Walking Dead cast and crew members at the 2010 and 2011 Comic-Con panels.

Archer is a popular novelist and a political celebrity in the UK, drawing praise and criticism from both major parties. The Eleventh Commandment (for those who haven’t read the book and/or ever been eight years old, it’s “thou shall not get caught”) is a spy thriller in the vein of Robert Ludlum’s Bourne series or Lee Child’s Jack Reacher novels. While The Eleventh Commandment is a stand-alone novel, the TV series is being developed as an ongoing story.

This show is the latest in a long line of books in active development for television – not that this is an uncommon occurrence. In just the last few weeks, we’ve seen development begin on The Seven Wonders, The Corrections, Under The Dome, The Lincoln Lawyer and Gods Behaving Badly, not to mention comic book projects Deadman, The Damned and The Spectre.

-

The Eleventh Commandment is in the pre-development stage at Valhalla Entertainment. Look for pilot and/or studio partner news in the upcoming months.

Follow Michael on Twitter: @MichaelCrider

 

TAGS: the eleventh commandment

No Comments

Post a Comment

GravatarWant to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

 Rules: No profanity or personal attacks.
 Use a valid email address or risk being banned from commenting.


If your comment doesn't show up immediately, it may have been flagged for moderation. Please try refreshing the page first, then drop us a note and we'll retrieve it.

Be Social, Follow Us!!