The Complete Doctor Who Episode List

Bolded episode titles are used to highlight exceptional, not simply good, episodes in each season.

We have supplied YouTube links to prequel minisodes and other media – where available. However, please note that broken links will be removed and, depending on availability, may not be replaced. That said, many prequel and minisodes can still be found online – via a quick Google search.

Season 1 (2005)

1) Rose
2) The End of the World
3) The Unquiet Dead
4) Aliens of London (Part 1)
5) World War Three (Part 2)
6) Dalek
7) The Long Game
8) Father’s Day
9) The Empty Child (Part 1)
10) The Doctor Dances (Part 2)
11) Boom Town
12) Bad Wolf (Part 1)
13) The Parting of the Ways (Part 2)

Season 1 (cont’d)

Born Again [Children in Need Short] [YouTube Link]

14) The Christmas Invasion [Christmas Special]

Season 2 (2006)

(Tardisode prequel shorts were made for each episode in season 2)

1) New Earth
2) Tooth and Claw
3) School Reunion
4) The Girl in the Fireplace
5) Rise of the Cybermen (Part 1)
6) The Age of Steel (Part 2)
7) The Idiot’s Lantern
8) The Impossible Planet (Part1)
9) The Satan Pit (Part 2)
10) Love & Monsters
11) Fear Her
12) Army of Ghosts (Part 1)
13) Doomsday (Part 2)

Torchwood Spin-off Begins (2 Seasons; 2 Miniseries)

14) The Runaway Bride [Christmas Special]

Season 3 (2007)

The Sarah Jane Adventures Spin-off Begins [Children’s Show] (5 Seasons)

1) Smith and Jones
2) The Shakespeare Code
3) Gridlock
4) Daleks in Manhattan (Part 1)
5) Evolution of the Daleks (Part 2)
6) The Lazarus Experiment
7) 42
8) Human Nature (Part 1)
9) The Family of Blood (Part 2)
10) Blink [Read the original short story HERE]

Torchwood Season 1 Finale: (No Doctor but the episode leads into Utopia.

11) Utopia (Part 1)
12) The Sound of Drums (Part 2)
13) Last of the Time Lords (Part 3)

The Infinite Quest [Animated Episode]
Time Crash [Children in Need Short] [YouTube Link]

14) Voyage of the Damned [Christmas Special]

Season 4 (2008)

1) Partners in Crime
2) The Fires of Pompeii
3) Planet of the Ood
4) The Sontaran Stratagem (Part 1)
5) The Poison Sky (Part 2)
6) The Doctor’s Daughter
7) The Unicorn and the Wasp
8) Silence in the Library (Part 1)
9) Forest of the Dead (Part 2)
10) Midnight
11) Turn Left
12) The Stolen Earth (Part 1) [Torchwood Appearance]
13) Journey’s End (Part 2) [Torchwood Appearance]

Season 4 Specials (2008-10)

(Season 4 specials are typically found solely by title on online streaming services, not necessarily as part of season 4 itself)

1) The Next Doctor [Christmas Special]
2) Planet of the Dead [Easter Special]

Dreamland [Animated Episode]

K-9 Spin-off Begins [Children’s Show] (1 Season)

3) The Water of Mars [Autumn Special]

The Wedding of Sarah Jane Smith (Part 1 and 2) [The Doctor on The Sarah Jane Adventures]

Torchwood: Children of Earth (No Doctor but the episode’s aftermath is referenced in “The End of Time: Part 2″)

4) The End of Time (Part 1) [Christmas Special]
5) The End of Time (Part 2) [New Year’s Special]

Season 5 (2010)

1) The Eleventh Hour

Meanwhile in the TARDIS Minisode 1 [Available on Season 5 DVD]

2) The Beast Below
3) Victory of the Daleks
4) The Time of Angels (Part 1)
5) Flesh and Stone (Part 2)

Meanwhile in the TARDIS Minisode 2 [Available on Season 5 DVD]

6) The Vampires of Venice
7) Amy’s Choice
8) The Hungry Earth (Part 1)
9) Cold Blood (Part 2)
10) Vincent and the Doctor
11) The Lodger
12) The Pandorica Opens (Part 1)
13) The Big Bang (Part 2)

Death of the Doctor (Part 1 & 2) [The Doctor on The Sarah Jane Adventures] [YouTube Link; Part 2]

14) A Christmas Carol [Christmas Special]

Space/Time [Children in Need Short] [YouTube Link; Part 2]

Season 6 (2011)

1) The Impossible Astronaut (Part 1) [Prequel Minisode YouTube Link]
2) Day of the Moon (Part 2)
3) The Curse of the Black Spot [Prequel Minisode YouTube Link]
4) The Doctor’s Wife
5) The Rebel Flesh (Part 1)
6) The Almost People (Part 2)
7) A Good Man Goes to War (Part 1)
8) Let’s Kill Hitler (Part 2) [Prequel Short YouTube Link]
9) Night Terrors
10) The Girl Who Waited
11) The God Complex
12) Closing Time
13) The Wedding of River Song [Prequel Short YouTube Link]

Death is the Only Answer [Doctor Who Confidential Short] [YouTube Link]

14) The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe [Christmas Special] [Prequel Short YouTube Link]

Good as Gold [Blue Peter Short] [YouTube Link]

Night and the Doctor [DVD Minisodes]: Due to wobbly wobbly timey wimey stuff these minisodes cannot be placed exactly in the episodic timeline but are best watched at the end of season 6.

Bad Night [YouTube Link]

Good Night [YouTube Link]

First Night [YouTube Link]

Last Night [YouTube Link]

Up All Night [Daily Motion Link]

Season 7 (2012-13)

Pond Life  [Mini-Webisodes] [YouTube Link; Part 2, 3, 4, 5]

1) Asylum of the Daleks [Prequel Short Amazon Link]
2) Dinosaurs on a Spaceship
3) A Town Called Mercy
4) The Power of Three

The Inforarium Minisode [Available on Season 7 DVD]

5) The Angels Take Manhattan

P.S. [Season 7 Mid-Season Finale Deleted Scene] [YouTube Link]

6) The Snowmen [Christmas Special] [Prequel Shorts The Great Detective and Vastra Investigates]
7) The Bells of Saint John [Prequel Short YouTube Link]
8) The Rings of Akhaten

Clara and the TARDIS Minisode [Available on Season 7 DVD]

Rain Gods Minisode [Available on Season 7 DVD]

9) Cold War
10) Hide
11) Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS
12) The Crimson Horror
13) Nightmare in Silver
14) The Name of the Doctor [Prequel Minisodes: He Said, She Said and Clarence and the Whispermen]

The Night of the Doctor [50th Anniversary Prequel Minisode] [YouTube Link]

The Last Day [50th Anniversary Prequel Minisode] [YouTube Link]

15) The Day of the Doctor [50th Anniversary Special]
16) The Time of the Doctor [Christmas Special]

Season 8 (2014)

1) Deep Breath
2) Into The Dalek
3) Robot Of Sherwood
4) Listen
5) Time Heist
6) The Caretaker
7) Kill The Moon
8) Mummy On The Orient Express
9) Flatline
10) In The Forest Of The Night
11) Dark Water
12) Death In Heaven

Season 9 (2015)

1) Last Christmas [Christmas Special]

Season 9 Prologue Minisode: [YouTube Link]

The Magician’s Apprentice Prequel: The Doctor’s Meditation [Daily Motion Link]

2) The Magician’s Apprentice (Part 1)
3) The Witch’s Familiar (Part 2)
4) Under the Lake (Part 1)
5) Before the Flood (Part 2)
6) The Girl Who Died (Part 1)
7) The Woman Who Lived (Part 2)
8) The Zygon Invasion (Part 1)
9) The Zygon Inversion (Part 2)
10) Sleep No More
11) Face the Raven
12) Heaven Sent (Part 1)
13) Hell Bent (Part 2)
14) The Husbands of River Song [Christmas Special]

MORE: Doctor Who Season 9: Which Character Is Maisie Williams Playing?

Follow me on Twitter @benkendrick for more Doctor Who coverage as well as future movie and TV news.

Doctor Who returns Saturday, September 19th for season 9 on BBC1 and BBC America.

« 1 2 3 4