Plot Synopsis For Neil Gaiman’s ‘Doctor Who’ Episode

Published 3 years ago by , Updated February 15th, 2014 at 8:46 pm,

doctor who wife neil gaiman Plot Synopsis For Neil Gaimans Doctor Who Episode

Episode four of Doctor Who‘s sixth series will be written by popular science fiction author Neil Gaiman. Now a plot synopsis for “The Doctor’s Wife” has been released by the BBC.

Doctor Who premiered last Saturday on BBC America. For the first time in the show’s 40+ year history, the debut episode was shown on the same day in the US and the United Kingdom. The episode drew an audience of 1.26 million, smashing BBC America’s previous viewership record.

As a special treat, science fiction favorite Neil Gaiman will pen the fourth episode, scheduled to air in mid-May. Gaiman is the author of celebrated novels American Gods and Stardust, as well as young adult books like Coraline. He’s currently working on adapting American Gods into either a movie or an HBO series.

“The Doctor’s Wife” will deal with the Time Lords, The Doctor’s alien race. At this point in the long history of Doctor Who, The Doctor is the only surviving Time Lord known. As he, Amy and Rory travel to the summons of some old friends, another possible survivor is revealed. Idris, presumably the blushing bride, will be played by Coronation Street‘s Suranne Jones.

The Doctor receives a distress signal from an old friend. Could there really be another living Time Lord out there? Hopes raised, he follows the signal to a junkyard planet sitting upon a mysterious asteroid in a Bubble universe, populated by a very strange family, as the time-traveling drama continues.

The Doctor, Amy and Rory are given the warmest of welcomes by Auntie, Uncle and Nephew. But the beautiful and insane Idris greets them in a more unusual fashion – what is she trying to tell the Doctor? As the Doctor investigates, he unwittingly puts his friends in the gravest danger.

The Doctor is played by Matt Smith, Amy by Karen Gillan, Rory by Arthur Darvill and Idris by Suranne Jones.

Gaiman expressed joy at the opportunity to write for the long-running series. The author was quoted in a colorful interview with The BBC:  “I don’t know what it’s like to be God… Until that very first moment when you get to sit down and type the words in your script: INTERIOR. TARDIS.

The intersection of a famous series with a beloved author will certainly make waves in the science fiction community. Fans of Doctor Who or Gaiman should be pleased, while the almost certain portion of the audience that overlaps should be ecstatic.

There’s also some recent good news for fans of Doctor Who spinoff Torchwood: the fourth series, Miracle Day, will premiere in the US on July 8th.

Doctor Who airs on BBC America Saturday nights at 9PM. The fourth episode is currently scheduled for May 14th.

Source: Doctor Who News Page

Get our free email alerts on the topics and author of this article:
TAGS: doctor who

One Comment

Post a Comment

GravatarWant to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

 Rules: No profanity or personal attacks.
 Use a valid email address or risk being banned from commenting.


If your comment doesn't show up immediately, it may have been flagged for moderation. Please try refreshing the page first, then drop us a note and we'll retrieve it.

  1. This sounds cool!