7 Movies We’re Looking Forward To: December 2012

Published 1 year ago by , Updated December 4th, 2012 at 12:23 pm, This is a list post.

7 Movies We're Looking Forward To: December 2012

December 2012 Movie Preview December is typically the time of the year that builds to a strong end - and in 2012, the latter part of the month will hit moviegoers with a wide array of films. While the obvious choice for most anticipated of the month goes to The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, there are still several new films worth checking out before we turn the calendar to 2013 - including the highly-anticipated next features from two critically acclaimed directors. And, of course, there are a few hit or miss titles, many of them comedies, that could make a sizeable splash thanks to this very family-friendly movie going season. Here are the 7 films we are looking forward to in the month of December.

December 14th: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

December 2012 Preview - The Hobbit It's been a long time coming for the feature-film adaptation of The Hobbit, but it's finally in capable hands and set to debut in just a few short weeks. By no means do we intend to discredit Guillermo Del Toro's work on the project, or his selection as the film's first director, but we really can't imagine anyone but Peter Jackson directing The Hobbit. And now that we know An Unexpected Journey is just one in a planned three-part film series there's the sense that Jackson is ready to deliver yet another epic tale. It could be argued that The Hobbit, unlike Lord of the Rings, could be succinctly summed up in one, maybe two films, but that's just not Jackson's style. Hopefully this second trip to Middle-earth is just as enchanting as the first. Check out the trailer for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.

December 19th: Monsters Inc. (3D)

December 2012 - Monsters Inc 3D Like Finding Nemo, Monsters Inc. is getting the Disney/Pixar 3D treatment in the hopes of reintroducing the feature to a whole new generation of children. And like Nemo (which has a sequel, Finding Nemo 2 on the way), Monsters will reacquaint audiences with characters they will be seeing again, in next summer's prequel film, Monsters University. Disney and Pixar 3D re-releases thus far have enjoyed moderate success dependant on moviegoers' fondness for the property, so we will see how well Monsters Inc. matches up with the likes of Toy Story, Beauty and the Beast, and The Lion King. Either way, we're intrigued by the prospect of seeing Sully's luscious purple and blue locks in 3D.

December 19th: The Guilt Trip

December 2012 Preview - The Guilt Trip A road trip comedy starring Seth Rogen and Barbara Streisand has the potential to be a laugh riot or an absolute flop. And the presence of director Anne Fletcher -- who is mostly known for romantic comedies - and writer Dan Fogelman (Crazy, Stupid, Love) further tosses The Guilt Trip into uncertain territory. Nevertheless, the movie, which sees Rogen's character, a desperate inventor, on a cross-country road trip with his mother (Streisand), still has us intrigued. It has the makings of an absolute disaster, sure, but we’re hoping to be surprised. Check out the trailer for Guilt Trip.

December 21st: This is 40

December 2012 Preview - This is 40 Judd Apatow's 2007 film Knocked Up featured a "B-plot" that focused on a married couple, played by Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann, whose line of communication had become rather complicated. Apatow's follow-up, This is 40, picks up with Rudd and Mann's characters 5 years down the road, as they continue to bicker their way through married life. Apatow's films - from The 40-Year-Old Virgin to Funny People - have drawn from Apatow's own life experiences, but This is 40 appears to be the most personal of his features thus far. But rest assured there will be plenty of R-rated humor to even out the earnest story beats. Check out the trailer for This is 40.

December 21st: Jack Reacher

December 2012 Preview - Jack Reacher When it was first announced that Tom Cruise would be playing the title character in Jack Reacher - an adaptation of author Lee Child's "One Shot" - many scoffed at the idea. Jack Reacher, the star of many of Child's novels, is written as a 6'5'', 250-pound man that is equal parts brute strength and tactical fighter - an image that doesn't exactly scream "Tom Cruise." While Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol proved Cruise still has the chops to pull off a demanding action role, even at the ripe age of 50, it's still unclear how his onscreen persona will compare with fans' vision of Reacher. Nevertheless, when he headlines an action film, moviegoers tend to take notice. Check out the trailer for Jack Reacher.

December 25th: Django Unchained

December 2012 Preview - Django Unchained Though the term auteur was tossed around more often in the early days of filmmaking than it is now, there are still a few that live up to the term, with one of best examples being Quentin Tarantino. His latest film, Django Unchained, is positioned as an ode to the spaghetti westerns of the '60s, featuring Jamie Foxx as the title character. Foxx, however, is only the tip of the iceberg in a cast that also includes Christoph Waltz (who won an Oscar last time he starred in a Tarantino film) and Leonardo DiCaprio (who was originally rumored to play the role that went to Waltz). A Tarantino film is a rare commodity, and they typically are meticulously crafted with pop-culture references, musical cues, and intense dialogue-driven scenes, so here's hoping that if it is indeed one of the last films he directs before retiring, that Django Unchained ranks up there with the best. Check out the trailer for Django Unchained.

December 25th: Les Miserables

December 2012 Preview - Les Miserables 2011 Oscar-winner for Best Director, Tom Hooper (The King's Speech), is following up his critically-acclaimed biopic with Les Misérables, an adaptation of the Tony Award-winning musical. Set in the aftermath of the French revolution, Les Misérables follows the story of Jean Valjean (Hugh Jackman), but is also a sweeping epic about the characters Valjean encounters in his search for a new life. The presence of Hooper alone would be enough to get the critics buzzing, but it is Anne Hathaway and her incredible singing voice that has people eagerly anticipating the film as well. Musicals of this caliber have fared quite well during the awards season, so we will see if Les Miz can keep the trend going. Check out the trailer for Les Misérables.

7 Movies We're Looking Forward To: December 2012

Martin Freeman as Bilbo Baggins While The Hobbit will come out of December (and potentially the year) as one of the top films, we're curious just how much money the film will gross after all is said and done. All three Lord of the Rings films rank somewhere in the worldwide top 30, so it stands to reason that Peter Jackson's latest could attain a similar standing. We're also curious if Django Unchained and This is 40 can continue the tradition of critical and commercial success for directors Quentin Tarantino and Judd Apatow. We'll just have to wait and see. Once again, here are the 7 movies we're looking forward to in the month of December:
  • December 14th: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
  • December 19th: Monsters Inc. (3D), The Guilt Trip
  • December 21st: This is 40, Jack Reacher
  • December 25h: Django Unchained, Les Misérables
TAGS: django unchained, Jack Reacher, les miserables, monsters inc, the guilt trip, the hobbit, this is 40

22 Comments

Post a Comment

  1. I’d replace “Guilt Trip” and “Jack Reacher” with “Zero Dark Thirty” and “Cirque Du Soleil: Worlds Away”

    • Thing is december is zdt limitrd release pretty sure it open wide in january

  2. Les Miserables is NOT set during the French Revolution but about 40 years later during the 1832 Student Rebellion. Please do your homework. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/June_Rebellion

    • Oh sure, that’s just what they WANT you to think ;)

  3. Am I the only one waiting more for a trailer than any of the movie releasing in december? Hyped for the Man of Steel Trailer arriving with the Hobbit on 14th. By the way do visit the following link and share it to help unlock a Man of Steel ‘reward’ so to speak. Maybe be its a trailer of the trailer! http://apps.warnerbros.com/thedarkknightrises/legend/index.php?v=collage

  4. hobbit the only one worth watching

  5. I could see Jack Reacher being good with almost anyone else in the lead role. Tom Cruise can play bad-ass, but of the unassuming variety. Jack Reacher is supposed to be a guy you just look at and go the other way even if your standing on a cliff…

  6. i just don’t care about the Hobbit. Maybe I’ll change my mind. Probably the only one. Reacher and maybe Django are the only ones I truly want to see.

  7. The Hobbit: very suspicious about that one. How many (older) franchises do you know that were successfully revived after 10 years or more? And how many have failed by missing what made the originals so great? The silly tone of the book and what I’ve seen in the trailer seem to support my fears. Smells like Jar Jar Binks…

    Monsters Inc. 3D: I don’t care. With a couple of exceptions I’m not a big fan of animated movies and I’m not a big fan of 3D (to put it mildly). I’ll pass.

    The Guilt Trip: could be interesting and funny if the humour isn’t too low brow. Something along the lines of “Planes, Trains and Automobiles” would be nice.

    This is 40: Midlife-crisis/relationship comedies… probably the worst genre of all, right after sports movies. There are notable exceptions but those are pretty unique entries (High Fidelity!). Don’t care.

    Jack Reacher: now that looks like nice old school entertainment. Could be awesome!

    Django Unchained: Inglourious Basterds was awesome and I have reason to believe yet that Tarantino has lost his game since then. Looking forward to it.

    Les Miserable: It’s a musical. Don’t care. ’nuff said.

    Sorry for mostly being a shepherd of negativity again, but you know how the saying goes: once bitten twice shy. I’m wary (and weary) from experience and jaded by the many, many excellent movies that I’ve seen in my life. It’s hard to impress me these days. And no, 3D is not the way to do it. At all. ;)

    • *NO reason to believe yet

    • I’m pretty wary about the HOBBIT myself. But I’m a fan of the storyline so I’ll go and see it. The main actor I recognize from the British Sherlock Holmes series …and from the movie “Love Actually”…so I think he’ll do a great job as a young Bilbo though I’m not sure about the actor who is portraying a younger version of Gandalf.

  8. this is 40 looks lame, I swear that chick has a career because she married Appatow

    Jack Reacher – its hilarious how much tom cruise overcompensates to show he is a manly man

    • 100% agree with everything you said.

  9. Hobbit, Jack Reacher maybe guilt trip and django unchained.

    And Jackie Chan’s Chineze Zodiac is supposed to be released in December. But that is probably just for the asian markets. We probably wont get it until early next summer in theaters if at all in theaters. Which is a shame because it is one of my most anticipated films for the end of 2012.

    • Yeah,Zodiac will play as the new years film here !
      The trailers are playing in fromt of any movie these days..can’t wait,just 2 more weeks to go ! Looks awesome and old school style for Chan fans !!

  10. The guilt trip , really. Come on.

  11. ZDT should be on this list.
    Don’t care much for QT, I’ll probably see DU so I can rant about how much I hated it.

  12. I’m most excited about “The Hobbit” “The Guilt Trip” and “Les Miserables” I have a feeling these three will be worth the wait

  13. I’m super-excited for The Hobbit. First off, because it’s The Hobbit. And secondly, for the freakin’ trailers that are attached to it. Man of Steel, Pacific Rim, AND Star Trek Into Darkness? Heck yes!

  14. I am a singer… been studying in school for performance of singing for 3 1/2 yrs…. anne hathaway is… okay…. I think they could have done better. The problem with Musicals on the silver screen is that sometimes they choose actors whose strength is exactly that:acting. Singing usually not the best tool in their arsenal. However, Hugh and Russell are great choices. Both have great choices. but anne hathaway? FAR from “great” as the article says.

  15. Was surprised to see Jack Reacher on this list, I hadn’t even heard of it till I saw a trailer for it a few weeks back – maybe the marketing angle is just bad, but it just looked like a run-of-the-mill popcorn action flick to me. With a slightly lame name.

    Monsters Inc 3D? Not really. Even with very well-done 3D, just having a greater perception of depth doesn’t really do much for me to make me look forward to a film quite so much…

    I agree with you about Guilt Trip (it either working surprisingly well or being a trainwreck) but I’m leaning towards it bombing critically. I dunno, maybe it’s just because I’m not convinced by the premise or the actors…

  16. Cant wait for Les Miserables!!!!!!

Post a Comment

GravatarWant to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

 Rules: No profanity or personal attacks.
 Use a valid email address or risk being banned from commenting.


If your comment doesn't show up immediately, it may have been flagged for moderation. Please try refreshing the page first, then drop us a note and we'll retrieve it.

Be Social, Follow Us!!