5 Movies We’re Looking Forward To: April 2014

Published 6 months ago by

April 2014 Movie Preview Header 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: April 2014

A few years back, April was widely considered to be the calm month before the oncoming summer storm – one last chance for studios to slip in their smaller releases before expectations rose considerably. Things have changed a lot since then.

Now, the month is still fairly light in terms of total releases, but what does hit in April is usually of a much higher quality than, say, 10 years ago. Many of the more recent high profile April releases have actually felt like early teasers for summer, and this year is no different. April boasts at least two big releases for 2014, both of which rank pretty high on our most anticipated list for the year. And, of course, it all starts with Marvel.

So, without further ado, here are the 5 movies we’re looking forward to in April 2014.

-

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (Release Date: April 4th)

April Movie Preview Captain America 2 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: April 2014

Easily the biggest release of the month for us, Captain America: The Winter Soldier seeks to continue Marvel’s trend of upping the ante in Phase 2. Like the first Thor, Captain America did decent business at the box office, but Marvel is hoping that the success of The Avengers will help push Captain America 2 to even bigger grosses.

More importantly, though, Captain America 2 features a storyline that fans were dying to see on screen well before even Chris Evans was cast. The Winter Soldier is a major player in the Cap storylines, and someone that could have a huge impact not just on this particular film but also on the larger Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Still, we just hope that The Winter Soldier will be a fun time at the movies in its own right, and early reviews suggest it is exactly that. We figured that new directors Joe and Anthony Russo (Community‘s excellent S2 paintball episodes) would be able to deliver solid action, but it also sounds like they’ve delivered one of Marvel’s best films yet.

Check out the trailer for Captain America: The Winter Soldier.

-

Oculus (Release Date: April 11th)

April Movie Preview Oculus 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: April 2014

Moviegoers looking for the next The Conjuring or Insidious will want to keep an Oculus, a horror title that is already garnering a ton of positive buzz coming off its premiere at TIFF. Sure, the idea of a mysterious mirror that possesses people isn’t entirely original, but oftentimes it’s the seemingly obvious horror films that turn out to be the best. Not to mention, Oculus stars Karen Gillan in the lead role, a major selling point for our fellow Whovians.

There may not be a lot of weight on Oculus‘ shoulders, but if successful the film can continue the horror genre’s recent dominance at the box office. At the same time, we’re just looking for a genuinely scary film and in that regard it sounds like Oculus delivers.

Check out the trailer for Oculus.

-

Transcendence (Release Date: April 18th)

April Movie Preview Transcendence 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: April 2014

While Transcendence is not an actual Christopher Nolan movie it certainly has a lot of the same elements. There’s the intriguing premise and the familiar actors, but of course the real point of connection is first time director Wally Pfister. Many might not know Pfister, but he has served as Nolan’s director of photography for his last handful of films, and now he is looking to break into feature film directing.

However, while Pfister comes from the Nolan school, Transcendence has its own appeals as well. Johnny Depp playing an Artificial Intelligence researcher that eventually becomes “transcendent,” or connected to the whole of the Internet, is one of them, for example. Admittedly, Transcendence sounds like it’s walking a thin line between intriguing and goofy, but we think the people involved will help tip the scales in the right direction.

Check out the trailer for Transcendence.

-

Brick Mansions (Release Date: April 25th)

April Movie Preview Brick Mansions 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: April 2014

The French film District B13 can be cited as one of the first films to use parkour as its main source of action. It wasn’t exactly a runaway hit, but found enough of an audience that Relativity Media and Eurocorp (Luc Besson’s production company and the producers of District 13) sought fit to remake the film as Brick Mansions. Like many of the English language remakes, Brick Mansions preserves most of the original film’s story, only with more familiar actors like the late Paul Walker.

Considering the French-language original’s clever use of parkour, we’re willing to give Brick Mansions the benefit of the doubt, even if District 13 is a perfectly competent film in its own right. More importantly, it will be nice to see Paul Walker in one of his last starring roles.

Check out the trailer for Brick Mansions.

-

The Quiet Ones (Release Date: April 25th)

April Movie Preview The Quiet Ones 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: April 2014

While it’s entirely possible that The Quiet Ones – the second horror release this April and the latest scary offering from Hammer Film Productions (The Woman in Black) – might suffer as a result of its close proximity to Oculus, we still think it will be worth checking out next month. The film stars Jared Harris (Mad Men) as a paranormal researcher who conducts an experiment in the hopes of creating a poltergeist. And, as these things are wont to do, the researcher gets much more than he bargained for.

True to form, The Quiet Ones seemingly keeps things small in the hopes of reaping big rewards, and it certainly has the makings of a quality horror/suspense film. There are always at least two or three genre films that strike it big each year, and The Quiet Ones could easily be one of them. At the same time, there are also a few horror flops each year, and The Quiet Ones might instead fall victim to horror fatigue.

Check out the trailer for The Quiet Ones.

-

Conclusion

Transcendence Johnny Depp Binary Code 5 Movies Were Looking Forward To: April 2014

Although April is relatively light on intriguing new releases, it still packs quite a punch as far as individual films are concerned. Both Captain America: The Winter Soldier and Transcendence seem like the clear favorites to make it big this month, but there are a handful of genre films that could also find success. There are even a few films, like Draft Day, Rio 2, and A Haunted House 2, that didn’t make our list but could be entertaining. Still, all eyes will be watching Marvel in April to see how far this train can go.

Once again, here are the 5 films we are looking forward to in April 2014:

  • April 4th: Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  • April 11th: Oculus
  • April 18th: Trascendence
  • April 25th: Brick Mansions, The Quiet Ones

What about you? Which films are you looking forward to seeing this month?

__________________________________________________

Follow Anthony on Twitter @ANTaormina

Get our free email alerts on the topics and author of this article:
TAGS: brick mansions, captain america 2, oculus, The Quiet Ones, Transcendence

24 Comments

Post a Comment

GravatarWant to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

 Rules: No profanity or personal attacks.
 Use a valid email address or risk being banned from commenting.


If your comment doesn't show up immediately, it may have been flagged for moderation. Please try refreshing the page first, then drop us a note and we'll retrieve it.

  1. since i already saw Captain America The Winter Soldier (and yes it IS the best marvel movie yet in my opinion, so ground yet leaving such a massive impact on the whole MCU) i am mostly looking forward to OCOLUS (karen gillan <3) which has no german release date so far :( and Transcendence (April 24th here), the other two movies dont interest me at all.

  2. Isn’t it ironic that the movie title is Captain America, but the American moviegoers will be the last to see it .

    While the rest of the world will probably have seen it twice before April 4

    Btw, according to Box office Mojo, CA:TWS already made $75 million just from overseas market alone.

    • Yeah, it really feels ridiculous seeing so many people saying that they’ve seen it already, when it’s still not even released where I am. The film industry needs to graduate to the internet age, with respect to that.

    • Ermmmm.. Yes… Twice… (looks around all shifty).. I’ve only seen it twice.. And only me and my bank account will know how many times I’ve actually seen it..

      • well considering that we had to wait months and months for movies to come here for YEARS and still have to wait for the smaller movies (like OCOLUS for example) to be released here and sometimes they dont get a theatrical release at all but get put out on dvd/br straight AND especially germany has to deal with a ridicolous amount of censorship in brutal movie (Schwarzeneggers The Last Stand was only brought to theaters in a cut version for example, then later in an uncut version too) (then again, NYMPHOMANIAC is uncut and has a 16 rating cause us europeans love nudity and have no problem with it HA)

        short story: i think its fair that we finally get at least some release a bit earlier than everyone else. makes up for all the stuff we had to deal with in the last 20-30 years regarding movies.

        • So, in Germany the censorship is primarily violence? I’m very curious. I (naively) assumed that censorship was not as much of an issue in [Europe]. But that is probably because US censorship fixates so much on nudity, not to mention ridiculous things like “this is too complex/undefined for Americans to understand” and such.

          I don’t doubt that it’s well-deserved for some places to get things earlier, for a nice change. Ultimately, we should all have the same access to the same thing, at the same time.

    • If it makes you feel better,we here in Brazil will only get it April 10. Which is weird, The Avengers, Iron Man 3 and The Dark World all got here a week earlier than in the U.S. I think maybe all the ‘Murrica-ness of the film is kind of a turn-off to people here. Which I think it’s stupid,Cap is awesome.

  3. Umm.. No Godzilla? I thought it’s released April 18th. Major ball drop there. MAJOR.

    • It opens in the third week of May, a week before Xmen.

      • my entire month of may is going to be set in a loud dark bright flashing room surrounded by smelly strangers.

        I can’t wait.

        • I didn’t realize you work at a strip bar.

          • my coffee just came out my nose….:D

    • Godzilla release date: May 16, 2014.

  4. I didn’t know any other movies were releasing this month. I thought it was just Cap 2 ftw. Kind of a waste of effort by all those other studies imo.

  5. A lot of people comment on Captain America being released in the US later, but he’s not the jingoistic, patriotic all american hero in the MCU is he? And they definitely don’t go that direction in Winter Soldier either. Plus Marvel regularly does now open internationally first now to combat piracy so it’s not that controversial.

    • Uhhmm… Releasing it Internationally helps piracy… I’ve already got it before release just like Avengers…

  6. lucky for aussies, we get capt2 and spidey 2 within 2 weeks of one another :P that will quench my comic and movie buzz for the month until next month :3 uni is breeze when you have a movie every month to help celebrate progress in hell :P

  7. SPOILER and the TV series? they wll rename it, or what.

    • Not quite maria, not quite.
      and of course, Agents of Shield will change, but not the title… as far as I know.

  8. Captain America TWS is a must perchase on DVD for me. Oculus….hmmmm, maybe a Netflix watch, but that’s about it. The other three do nothing for me, personally.

    • Who the hell has time to wait for a movie to go to netflix? If it even ends up on there lol

  9. This time tomorrow I will have seen Winter Soldier. So looking forward to it.

  10. Just watched cptn america here in the philippines.. Omgeee,, the best marvel movie soo far.. The post credit scene will blow your effing mind.. “The twins”…. Gave me goosebumps..

  11. I would only like to see a few more members added to the Avengers team. However their are only a few I would like to have their own movie before joining the team.
    Added To the Team
    Ant-Man
    Wasp
    She Hulk
    Mrs Marvel
    Black Panther
    Dr. Srtange

Be Social, Follow Us!!