Screen Rant’s (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

Published 2 years ago by , Updated August 2nd, 2013 at 9:25 am,

sr 2012 movie preview1 Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

2012 is here and movie fans are pretty excited, as the year twenty-twelve promises some highly anticipated sci-fi films (Prometheus), some promising animated originals (Brave, Paranorman), the usual awards season art house entries (Licoln, Great Gatsby), and a super-powered showdown between Marvel’s The Avengers, and DC/Warner Bros.’ The Dark Knight Rises.

Should that Mayan doomsday prophecy turn out to be true, it’ll be hard to say that we didn’t go out on a high note, as far as movies are concerned.

In our guide we’ll take a look at the movies of 2012 that will be occupying our weekends at the theater all throughout the year. We’ll also keep this post updated as release dates are shifted and new movies are added to the calendar, so be sure to bookmark this post for future reference.

For your convenience, we’ve separated the 2012 movie releases into the the months of the year. Be sure to check back each month for the latest on the movies that will be at theaters near you. We’ll keep things current with new images, casting news, release date shifts and late additions. January is listed on this page and you can click any one of the links below to jump to a specific month.

-

January 2012 MOVIES

 

The Devil Inside

The Devil Inside Living Image 570x320 Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 6th

In Italy, a woman becomes involved in a series of unauthorized exorcisms during her mission to discover what happened to her mother, who allegedly murdered three people during her own exorcism.

(THE DEVIL INSIDE TRAILER)

-

Beauty and the Beast 3D

Beauty and the Beast 3D Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 13th

Belle, whose father is imprisoned by the Beast, offers herself instead and discovers her captor to be an enchanted prince. The 1991 Disney animated film now converted into 3D.

-

Contraband

mark wahlberg contraband Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 13th

To protect his brother-in-law from a drug lord, a former smuggler (Mark Wahlberg) heads to Panama to score millions of dollars in counterfeit bills. Kate Beckinsale, Ben Foster, Lukas Haas, J.K. Simmons and Giovanni Ribisi co-star.

(CONTRABAND TRAILER)

-

The Divide

the divide trailer Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 13th (U.S. – Limited)

Survivors of a nuclear attack are grouped together for days in the basement of their apartment building, where fear and dwindling supplies wear away at their dynamic.

(THE DIVIDE TRAILER)

-

Joyful Noise

Joyful Noise 2012 Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 13th

Two choir members have differing opinions on how to win the national choir competition. Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton star.

-

The Iron Lady

iron lady meryl streep Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 13th (U.S.)

A look at the life of Margaret Thatcher (Meryl Streep), the former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, with a focus on the price she paid for power.

(THE IRON LADY TRAILER)

-

We Need to Talk About Kevin

We Need To Talk About Kevin Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 13th (U.S. – Limited Release)

The mother of a teenage boy who went on a high-school killing spree tries to deal with her grief – and feelings of responsibility for her child’s actions. Tilda Winton and John C. Reilly star as the parents, Ezra Miller plays the titular Kevin.

-

Coriolanus

Ralph Fiennes in the Coriolanus trailer Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 20th (U.S. – Limited Release)

In this modern vision of a Shakespeare classic, a banished hero of Rome allies with a sworn enemy to take his revenge on the city. Ralph Fiennes stars and directs, Gerard Butler, Jessica Chastain, Vanessa Redgrave, James Nesbitt and Brian Cox co-star.

(CORIOLANUS TRAILER)

-

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

extremely loud incredibly close tom hanks Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 20th (Expansion to Wide Release)

A nine-year-old amateur inventor, Francophile, and pacifist (Thomas Horn) searches New York City for the lock that matches a mysterious key left behind by his father (Tom Hanks), who died in the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001. Sandra Bullock, John Goodman, Max Von Sydow, Viola Davis and Jeffrey Wright co-star.

(EXTREMELY LOUD AND INCREDIBLY CLOSE TRAILER)

-

Haywire

gina carano haywire trailer Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 20th (U.S.)

A black ops super soldier (MMA star Gina Carano) seeks payback after she is betrayed and set up during a mission. Channing Tatum, Michael Fassbender, Ewan McGrego, Michael Douglas, Antonio Banderas and Bill Paxton co-star.

(HAYWIRE TRAILER)

-

Red Tails

Red Tails second trailer Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 20th

A crew of African American pilots in the Tuskegee training program, having faced segregation while kept mostly on the ground during World War II, are called into duty under the guidance of Col. A.J. Bullard. Cuba Gooding Jr., David Oyelowo, Method Man, Tristan Wilds, Ne-Yo, Lee Tergesen, Gerald McRaney, Terrence Howard, Josh Dallas, and Bryan Cranston star.

(RED TAILS  TRAILER)

- 

Underworld Awakening

Underworld Awakening Trailer Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 20th

When human forces discover the existence of the Vampire and Lycan clans, a war to eradicate both species commences. The vampire warrioress Selene (Kate Beckinsale) leads the battle against humankind.

(UNDERWORLD AWAKENING  TRAILER)

-

The Grey

the grey liam neeson tv spot Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 27th

In Alaska, an oil drilling team struggle to survive after a plane crash strands them in the wild. Hunting the humans are a pack of wolves who see them as intruders. Liam Neeson and Dermot Mulroney star.

(THE GREY  TRAILER)

-

Man on a Ledge

sam worthington man on a ledge Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 27th

As a police psychologist works to talk down an ex-con who is threatening to jump from a Manhattan hotel rooftop, the biggest diamond heist ever committed is in motion. Sam Worthington, Elizabeth Banks, Jamie Bell, Ed Harris, Kyra Sedgwick, Ed Burns, Anthony Mackie and William Sadler star.

(MAN ON A LEDGE  TRAILER)

-

One for the Money

one for money trailer Screen Rants (Massive) 2012 Movie Preview

January 27th

Unemployed and newly-divorced Stephanie Plum (Katherine Heigl) lands a job at her cousin’s bail-bond business, where her first assignment puts her on the trail of a wanted local cop from her romantic past (Jason O’Mara).

(ONE FOR THE MONEY  TRAILER)

-

FEBRUARY 2012 MOVIES…

« 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13»

58 Comments

Post a Comment

  1. so is red dawn like a copy of tomorrow when the war began cause it sure looks it

  2. You said you’d keep this list current, so where’s the Paranormal Activity 4 release date in October?

    • @Bobby

      I do take the weekend off now and then, you know ;-)

      Adding PA4 to the release date list

      • It’s release date of October 19th was reported by Deadline on Wednesday, and was reported by you guys on Thursday. I didn’t think the weekend was a problem when I posted that. 16 hours after your post, still not seeing it in October.

        • @Bobby

          It’s there now. We good?

          • Yes. I would like to preface the rest of this message by saying that I’m only being this critical because I think this is a fantastic idea and I would love for this to be a reliable page to reference my friends so that I can retire my own upcoming movies list in favor of putting all my focus on school this semester. With that in mind:

            Suppose it doesn’t matter now, but The Divide was a limited release.
            Sources: IMDB, ComingSoon, Bloody Disgusting, and sure enough it’s not playing in any of my local theaters in Portland, Oregon that I can find.

            January 13th is the wide release date for Iron Lady, so I’m not sure it’s necessary to say it’s limited there. Up to you I suppose.
            Source: http://screenrant.com/the-iron-lady-trailer-sandy-142789/

            Rampart gets released on February 10th.
            Sources:
            http://www.rampartmovie.com/
            http://www.joblo.com/upcomingmovies/2012/rampart
            http://trailers.apple.com/trailers/independent/rampart/

            Hansel & Gretel is now beyond the scope of this list because of its January 11th, 2013 release.
            Source: http://screenrant.com/hansel-gretel-witch-hunters-release-date-2013-sandy-146617/

            Simple typo: The movie “Project X” is mislabeled as “Project”.

            I’m not too sure about this, but both Coming Soon and Rotten Tomatoes show the release date of “Playing the Field” to be December 25th, 2012. Not necessarily saying you should change it yet, but it’s something to keep an eye on.

            A Thousand Words now has a release date of April 20th, 2012.
            Source: http://www.paramount.com/movies/a-thousand-words/details/theaters

            I’ll stop there.

            From your author page I can see that you are very busy. Might I suggest you not be the only screenrant staffer to maintain this list?

            • I want this to be reliable too, Bobby, so as soon as I have a free second I’ll update this list.

              Thanks for pointing these things out, and I’ll do my best to keep it accurate throughout the year.

            • Just did a total run through and update of the preview. There a few other changes waiting to be made as well. I’ll check back once a week or so to keep updating things.

              Thanks Bobby.

  3. does anyone know if The Avengers is going to be in Imax?

  4. also if Stan Lee will have a cameo?

    • Stan Lee will cameo in the Avengers!

  5. “7500″ in august sounds intriging

  6. Only going to c Donny’s Boy because of Ciara, I love her.

  7. Maybe 3-4 films on this list look interesting, no way these Hollywood losers get any of my money for the other ones

  8. You should never forget ‘too many cooks can spoil a broth.
    It’s easy to read that book and feel motivated to make changes.
    These include finding a land or property in a strategic location, gathering information
    about comparable properties that have recently been sold within
    the vicinity of the property you’re targeting to buy, consulting a real estate agent and inspecting the condition of the property first through
    the help of a professional inspector if it has access to water and
    electricity.

Post a Comment

GravatarWant to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

 Rules: No profanity or personal attacks.
 Use a valid email address or risk being banned from commenting.


If your comment doesn't show up immediately, it may have been flagged for moderation. Please try refreshing the page first, then drop us a note and we'll retrieve it.

Be Social, Follow Us!!